Rahul Gandhi, Shashi Tharoor Among 39 Congress 1st Lok Sabha Candidates

The list of candidates for the first presidential election of the Congress party also includes Bhupesh Baghel, who served as the chief minister of Chhattisgarh in the past, and KC Venugopal, the General Secretary of the Congress party.

As a result of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) releasing their initial list of 195 candidates, the Congress party has now offered their reaction in the form of 39 names submitted by the candidates. The names of Rahul Gandhi, Shashi Tharoor, and Bhupesh Baghel are included on the list that the Congress party candidates have compiled.

In the state of Kerala, Rahul Gandhi is going to run for office from the Wayanad constituency. However, it is not yet clear whether he will also be fielded from the Amethi constituency, as he would be in 2019. The seat that Shashi Tharoor will be competing from is Thiruvananthapuram, which he has already held three times. On the other hand, Mr. Baghel will be running from Rajnandgaon, which is situated in the state of Chhattisgarh.

KC Venugopal, the General Secretary of the Congress, is one of the other notable candidates on the list. He will be running for election from Alapuzzha in Kerala, a seat that he had previously won in 2009. In addition, DK Suresh, who is the brother of DK Shivakumar, the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka, has been fielded from Bengaluru Rural. There is a high probability that both of these people will run for office.

There are only two states that have not been included on the list of names that have been disclosed, and those are Chhattisgarh and the Union Territory of Lakshadweep. The majority of the names have been officially declared for several states located in the south and northeast. An overwhelming majority of the candidates, all of whom are sixteen years old, have been announced to be from the state of Kerala. Additionally, it is believed that the Congress will set aside the remaining four seats for its supporters to occupy.

Seven names have been disclosed by the state of Karnataka, while the state of Chhattisgarh has declared six names, and the state of Telangana has disclosed four different names. Meghalaya, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, and Lakshadweep are the states that are responsible for providing them with the remaining individuals.

The concentration on the south is deliberate because not only does the Congress have its administrations in the states of Karnataka and Telangana, but the south is also the only region in the country where the BJP is relatively weak. That is why the attention is on the south. Due to the fact that the Congress has its governments in each of these states, this is the case.

Communities should be given priority.

Mr. Venugopal added that the candidates had been chosen by the Congress Central Election Committee at the announcement that took place on Friday. This was stated during the announcement of the names. The fact that 24 of the 39 candidates originate from the OBC, SC, ST, and minority communities that are candidates was brought to the attention of the audience with his statement.

The INDIA coalition is currently in the process of negotiating seat-sharing arrangements in a number of other states, including Maharashtra, and the list that has been provided is just the beginning, according to the sources that it has consulted. There is a possibility that further names will be included. When it comes to making judgements regarding pacts for the state, which has the second-highest number of members of parliament (MPs) in the Lok Sabha, both the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the Indian National Congress (INDIA) alliances have run into challenges. This dilemma has been experienced by both parties.

An other issue that may be adding to the delay is the fact that Rahul Gandhi is now participating in the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra. This yatra is currently taking place in Gujarat and will come to a close in Mumbai on March 17th. Mr. Venugopal has mentioned that on that specific day, there will be a major rally in the city, and the leaders of all of the INDIA party leaders have been invited to go so that they can participate.

Leave a Comment